Strood Division

Strood Division lies to the west of the River Medway and extends from the village of Halling, snuggling between the river and the North Downs, through the urban sprawl of Strood town out onto the Hoo peninsula with its wide open marshlands and the River Thames.

The Division consists of 5 Districts:

Cuxton and Halling – These two villages are both on the famous Pilgrims Way, an ancient track from Winchester to Canterbury through chalk grasslands.

Frindsbury and Wainscott – Frindsbury is a part of the Medway Towns conurbation with Wainscott its village neighbour. The surrounding countryside consists of ancient woodlands and beautiful agricultural land.

Hoo – There are several villages on the Hoo Peninsula to bear the name Hoo, a Saxon word believed to mean ‘spur of land’ or refers to the ‘distinct heel-shape of the ridge of hills’ through the settlement. Hoo is featured in the Domesday Book.

Spendiff with Yantlet – Several villages including Cliffe, Allhallows and Isle of Grain make up this district. The Yantlet creek used to separate the Isle of Grain from the Hoo peninsula but over time it has become silted up and no true island exists. The marshlands here are part of the Greater Thames Estuary and Site of Special Scientific Interest.

Strood Town – Strood’s history has been dominated by the river and particularly its road and rail bridges since the Roman era. These adjoin the towns of Rochester, Chatham and Gillingham and beyond from the north-east quarter of Kent to London and the rest of Britain.

For more information contact – Trudi Fenton-Scott


Find out more